The SACA MVP is back and 2017/18 SACA’s Most Valuable Player (SACA MVP) winner Jon Jon Smuts will be looking to defend his title as in Domestic Franchise Cricket.

The Warriors captain racked up 479.388 points to end last season 66.974 points ahead of Hollywood bets Player of the Year winner, and SACA MVP runner-up, Senuran Muthusamy.

The SACA MVP uses an internationally recognised rankings system used by several players associations around the world.  It is designed to measure who the key influencers are competing week in week out in CSA’s domestic competitions.

Players earn points for batting, bowling, fielding and for contribution to matches won by their team.  Points are weighted across the different formats to ensure that performances in each match, earn players the appropriate number of points.

The SACA MVP is updated on the SACA website after each round of matches and can be easily followed by players.  SACA pays incentive bonuses from the PPP for:

  • Top 30 players in the SACA MVP
  • Top 10 players in the 4Day Competition
  • Top 10 players in the Momentum One-Day Cup
  • Top 10 players in the CSA T20 Challenge

“The SACA MVP is entering its eighth season after being introduced in 2010. Bonuses will be paid to players who feature highly in the SACA MVP and we hope all players will be following their progress in the rankings from the start of the season” Tony Irish, SACA chief executive.

Previous years SACA MVP winners:

2017/18 Jon Jon Smuts
2016/17 Colin Ackermann
2015/16 Dwaine Pretorius
2014/15 Dane Paterson
© 2019 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN