The International Cricket Council (ICC) on Monday announced the schedule for the 2018 ICC Women’s World Twenty20 to be held in the West Indies from November 9 to 24.

The 10-team tournament, featuring three-time champions Australia, reigning ICC Women’s World Cup winners England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and defending champions the Windies, plus two qualifiers, will be played across three venues in the Caribbean.

The finalists of the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier in the Netherlands from July 7 to 14 will complete the line-up of the November tournament, which is the first stand-alone ICC Women’s World Twenty20 event.

The teams participating in the Qualifying event are Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Scotland, Thailand, Uganda and the United Arab Emirates.

All 23 matches of the ICC Women’s World Twenty20 will have the Decision Review System (DRS) used for the first time in any ICC World Twenty20 event, ensuring consistency in the use of technology in top world-level events.

The Proteas are in Group A along with defending champions the Windies, England, Sri Lanka and Qualifier 1 from the Netherlands event, while Australia, India, New Zealand, Pakistan and Qualifier 2 will be in Group B.

The event kicks off at the Guyana National Stadium, starting with India and New Zealand, while the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Ground in Antigua will host both semi-finals on November 22 and the final on November 24.

“We love playing in the West Indies. It’s quite special, you don’t see places like that. I’m really excited because we enjoy playing Twenty20 cricket,” Proteas skipper Dane Van Niekerk told the ICC’s website.

“I think we have a very dynamic side. We have hitters, we have runners, we have variation in the bowling attack as well. We are a free-spirited team and we enjoy it because we can express ourselves.”

Group A:

West Indies

South Africa


Sri Lanka

Qualifier 1

Group B:



New Zealand


Qualifier 2

Proteas women WT20 schedule:

Monday, November 12 – SA v Sri Lanka

Wednesday, November 14 – SA v West Indies

Friday, November 16 – SA v England

Sunday, November 18 – SA v Qualifier 1

© 2019 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN