SACA MVP Returns for its 14th Edition

The SACA MVP rankings will be reset back to zero on the weekend as the 2023/2024 domestic cricket season kicks off with a doubleheader round of fixtures in the CSA 1-Day Cup competition.

First introduced in 2013, the SACA MVP formula is entering its 14th edition as South African crickets’ first and most followed statistical ranking system.

The MVP algorithm tracks and measures players and awards points for top performances in each discipline to identify the match winners in any given fixture to determine the Most Valuable Player at the end of the season.

The MVP weighs important contributions such as scoring a high portion of the team’s total runs, claiming top-order wickets, and taking catches. Each individual player’s total points are aggregated at the end of the season, four MVPs will be named for the 2023/24 season, one for each Division 1 domestic competition.

Warriors’ all-rounder Beyers Swanepoel is the current holder of the Overall SACA MVP title after he defeated the competition to win 14,93 points clear of the nearest challenger, 2017/18 winner, Jon Jon Smuts.

“We would like to players all the best for the 2023/24 cricket season.  This is the first full season post covid, with no more bubbles. In previous years, the MVP top ten has been a great indicator of who is next in the Proteas pipeline and with an ICC event each year, and a full schedule for the national and SA A teams, this season is an opportunity to stand up and be counted” said SACA President, Khaya Zondo.

© 2024 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN