Proteas Player Statement

As Proteas cricketers, we are proud to be representatives of South Africa.  We have reached the pinnacle of our playing careers and we strive for excellence every time we walk onto the field.  We play for every South African.

This year has been challenging.  COVID has already cost our teams tours to the West Indies, Sri Lanka and England, and we are all hoping that the Proteas Men we will be able to commence the international season against England in the summer.

However, as Proteas players, both men and women, we are concerned about the future of our game.  At Board and Operational level, Cricket South Africa has lurched from crisis to crisis over the past year.  Issues such as suspensions, dismissals, resignations, forensic audits, confidential leaks, litigation and financial mismanagement have dominated the cricket headlines. This is happening at a time when we are having challenging conversations about transformation, and in an environment where the financial viability of the game is under major threat.  

High standards are expected of us as players. To succeed as Proteas teams, we know we have to put aside personal differences and work together.  We require the same of our administrators. Politics and self-interest appear to trump cricket imperatives and good governance.  Decisions must be made that are in the best interests of cricket, failing which the game we love may be irreparably damaged in this country.  The Proteas teams must be strong, the domestic structure must be strong, and the transformation pipeline must be strong – we demand that this be the focus of the CSA Board and Operational Team.

The CSA AGM scheduled for 5 September 2020 has now been postponed.  This may be the last chance we have to change direction and save the game.  As Proteas we demand that all stakeholders heed our sincere plea. 
Aiden Markram, Andile Phehlukwayo, Anrich Nortje, Ayabonga Khaka, Beuran Hendricks, Chloe Tryon, Dané van Niekerk, David Miller, Dean Elgar, Dwaine Pretorius, Faf du Plessis, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Laura Wolvaardt, Lizelle Lee, Lungi Ngidi, Marizanne Kapp, Masabatha Klaas, Mignon du Preez, Nadine de Klerk, Quinton de Kock, Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Shabnim Ismail, Sinalo Jafta, Sune Luus, Tabraiz Shamzi, Temba Bavuma, Trisha Chetty, Tumi Sekhukhune

© 2024 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN