SACA Congratulates it’s MVP Winners for the 2023/24 Season

The South African Cricketers’ Association (SACA) today congratulated this season’s SACA MVP (Most Valuable Player) winners. Bjorn Fortuin was named SACA MVP across the CSA division 1 domestic competitions, while Yolandi Potgieter took home the inaugural SACA MVP title in the CSA Professional Women’s Domestic League.

The SACA MVP is calculated using an internationally recognised formula which takes into account every discipline in the game of cricket.  Batting, bowling, fielding, captaining and winning statistics are all considered within the context of each individual match. Individual player performances in pressure situations for example carry more weight, thus players who deliver when their team needs them most, earn more points.

Fortuin showed his versatility by finishing 1st overall on the 4Day rankings, and 3rd overall on the T20 rankings. He proved his ability to pick up wickets in both the short and long formats of the game and also contributed with the bat in key moments throughout the season. In the shortest format of the game, DP World Lions opener Ryan Rickelton finished the season top of the T20 MVP rankings with some exceptional innings, propelling his team to the title. Kyle Verreynne capped off a fine season by topping the 1Day MVP rankings, with impressive performances both with the bat and behind the stumps.

“I am really delighted and it’s a big honour being named SACA MVP winner this season. It’s a great reward for all the hard work and effort put in this past season not only individually, but also what we have managed to achieve as a team. Even though I take home the award, I really do see it as a team effort”, commented Fortuin.

On the Women’s front, Free State all-rounder Yolandi Potgieter was named as the SACA MVP winner in the inaugural CSA Professional Women’s Domestic League. Potgieter put in consistent performances throughout the season with both bat and ball and ended up on 274,40 points, a massive 14pts ahead of 2nd placed Tazmin Brits. Faye Tunnicliffe, Nonkululeko Mlaba and Kgomotso Rapoo rounded out the top 5 on the overall rankings.

“I’ve really enjoyed this past season and getting to play competitive domestic cricket has been an absolute privilege. I’m very proud to receive this award from SACA and hope to carry my good performances into next season”, said Potgieter.  “Despite a number of challenges in domestic cricket this year, we have seen some superb performances by players across both the Men’s and Women’s formats.  We are extremely proud to be able to introduce the SACA MVP for our domestic women.  The SACA MVP is our prized player property that gives a statistical and objective view of who the top players in the country are. Congratulations to all the winners” said Andrew Breetzke, SACA CEO. 

Related Articles

© 2024 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN