Swanepoel Takes Home the Title of SACA MVP

Warriors allrounder Beyers Swanepoel took home the coveted title of SACA MVP at CSA Awards ceremony on Friday evening.   

Swanepoel enjoyed a fantastic season across all formats and particularly in red-ball cricket. He finished the 2022/23 season at the top of the SACA MVP overall rankings as well as the 4-Day series.  

The SACA MVP ranking is South Africa’s only statistical ranking formula that measures the success and on-field performances of players at every match. Points are awarded based on each discipline of the game and are weighted based on the impact of their performance in the match. The formula was also used in the inaugural 2023 Betway SA20 to determine the Betway Player of the Tournament.

Swanepoel proved his abilities with the bat and ball in the 4-Day series, picking up 33 wickets including two fifers and a ten-fer, and scoring 235 runs. He crept up the rankings putting in strong performances in each match, taking big-ticket wickets and scoring runs on a regular basis to finish top of the table ahead of Dolphins allrounders Jon Jon Smuts and Prenelan Subrayen in the final match of the series.  

“I am really happy with my performances this season and it is great to take home the title of SACA MVP because there have been some really big names to have won this title. To be listed among them is something special,” commented Swanepoel.

In the shortest format of the game, Titans youngster Dewald Brevis blasted onto the scene in terrific fashion to finish top of the T20 MVP rankings, followed by Grant Roelofsen in second and Aaron Phangiso in third. Brevis dominated in the T20 Challenge as he was the leading run-scorer of the tournament. His personal best score of 162, two catches and a wicket quickly propelled him to the top spot of the rankings early on in the competition. Brevis showcased some amazing performances in the 20-over game where he hit 24 sixes in nine matches.

Ryan Rickelton takes the title in the 1-Day Cup MVP rankings, ahead of Jordan Herman and Jon Jon Smuts. The fight for the number one position came down to the wire with only 0,678 points separating the top two positions. As the leading run-scorer of the competition, it was Rickelton’s man-of-the-match performances against Boland, Titans and North West that landed him at the top of the table and earned him a call-up to the Proteas ODI squad. In addition, his performance did not go unseen by his peers as he picked up the Domestic Players Player of the Year award at the CSA Awards evening.

“Despite a number of scheduling challenges this year, it has been a great season all around and we have seen some superb performances by players. The SACA MVP is our prized player property that gives a statistical and objective view of who the top players in the country are. Congratulations to all the winners and we look forward to more action in the coming season” said Andrew Breetzke, SACA CEO.

© 2024 SACA. South African Cricketers' Association
Website Design by KNOWN